Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
$19/m
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in Colorado

There are some laws and regulations that apply to auto insurance in Colorado. You need to get informed on the legal requirements in your state in order to avoid penalties and fines. This is your one-stop resource for information about, and the best deals on, auto insurance in Colorado.

Auto Insurance in Colorado

Colorado law requires every driver to obtain minimum liability auto insurance and to carry proof of that insurance in the vehicle at all times. Some experts have noted that Colorado has unusually strict laws that apply to drivers who are caught without proof of insurance. Potential penalties include a minimum $500 fine and four points on a driver’s record for the first offense. On the second offense, the minimum fine raises to $1,000 and there is a mandatory four month suspension of the driver’s license. Up to 40 hours of community service and eight month driving suspensions result from a third offense.

Obtaining Compliant Auto Insurance in Colorado

As you can see, it is important to always carry proof of insurance in your vehicle. The first step to achieving compliance with the law is to make sure you purchase car insurance that meets the state’s minimum coverage. First, you must at least have liability auto insurance. That insurance must cover:

- Bodily injury up to $35,000 per person
- Bodily injury up to $50,000 per accident
- A minimum of $15,000 in total property damage coverage per accident

Do not Settle for the Minimum

Purchasing the minimum auto insurance in Colorado may not provide you or your passengers with a sufficient level of coverage. As you know, the costs of medical expenses and vehicle repairs rises each year. State minimum standards rarely keep pace with the changing landscape. You should look into the possibility of collision and comprehensive auto insurance with better coverage. When you enter your zip code on this page, you will get a chance to compare rates from the top providers of auto insurance in Colorado.

You also should keep uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, personal injury protection, and no-fault insurance in mind when you are shopping for a policy. These features are not legally required by law in Colorado, but they may provide you with the kind of protection your assets deserve.

Information for DUI Offenders

You will be subject to imprisonment for up to one year, fines up to $1,000, license suspension for up to nine months, up to 96 hours of community service, and more as a first time DUI offender in Colorado.

The SR-22 Form

After your period of suspended driving privileges, you will be required to file an SR-22 form to show proof of financial responsibility. This shows that you have the proper auto insurance to regain your driver’s license.

Finding Additional Information Regarding Auto Insurance in Colorado

We have only covered some of the intricacies of auto insurance in Colorado. If you have more questions about what kind of car insurance you need to purchase, or if you are concerned your current coverage does not comply with the laws in Colorado, you should seek out the help of the Colorado DORA Department of Insurance. You can reach them over the phone at (303) 894-7490 or you can contact them online by visiting their site at www.dora.state.co.us/insurance.

Start
 Here
Enter your zip code
Compare quotes from top carriers in minutes - start saving today!
Your Neighborhood
Current Average Savings
$227
Select Your State
Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!

Choose Your State