Auto Insurance in Nevada
Do you have questions about uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, no-fault laws, or liability auto insurance in Nevada? This quick guide lays out all the information that drivers need to know in Nevada. When you are done, you can be sure whether or not your auto coverage is in compliance with the law.
Auto Insurance in Nevada
Nevada drivers need to have liability auto insurance and be able to produce a Nevada Evidence of Insurance card at certain times upon request. First of all, you will be required to show proof of insurance whenever you register, renew, or reinstate a vehicle. You will also be asked to show proof when making license plate changes and during any traffic stop by law enforcement.
In order to qualify as valid proof of insurance in Nevada, your card must have three statements written on it:
- "Coverage meets the requirements set forth in NRS 485.185"
- “Nevada Evidence of Insurance” or similar language that directly references compliance with Nevada law
“This card must be carried in the insured motor vehicle for production upon demand.”
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Nevada
If you already have liability auto insurance in Nevada, make sure that it meets these minimum standards:
$15,000 bodily injury per person
$30,000 total bodily injury per accident
$10,000 total property damage per accident
These minimums apply to all drivers and all policies must meet the standards whether they are old or new. If you are shopping for auto insurance for the first time, you should know that most experts say that state mandated minimums rarely provide enough coverage for drivers. If you want to find a great deal on extra protection that includes options like comprehensive and collision coverage, you should enter your zip code in the form above.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Nevada
You do not have to obtain auto insurance that includes protection against uninsured or underinsured drivers in the State of Nevada.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Nevada
No-fault insurance is not a requirement for drivers in Nevada.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection is not mandated by law.
An SR-22 form will come into play if you ever receive a license suspension from the State of Nevada. After vehicle or driver suspensions have been served, it is still necessary to prove that compliant auto insurance is in place. Driving privileges will not be reinstated until the driver can prove they have auto insurance by submitting an SR-22 document.
Nevada’s DUI Laws
Nevada’s DUI laws call for certain penalties to be levied against first time offenders. A conviction may lead to the following consequences:
- Two days to six months imprisonment or
- 96 hours community service if permitted
- $400 to $1,000 fine
- 90 day license suspension
- Possible restricted license after half suspension fulfilled
- Possible ignition interlock
- $150 DUI school tuition
- Possible DUI treatment program
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Nevada
While this guide covered all of the most important facts regarding auto insurance in Nevada, you should turn to the Nevada Insurance Commissioner's Office if you have questions about any details. You can reach their office at (775) 687-0700 or go to their website at www.doi.state.nv.us.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)