Auto Insurance in Georgia
Georgia does require liability auto insurance, but it does not require drivers to obtain no-fault or personal injury protection coverage. Your auto insurance must meet minimum standards for bodily injury and property damage coverage. Read the fact sheet below to make sure that you know all the important facts about auto insurance in Georgia.
Auto Insurance in Georgia
Georgia drivers are required by law to obtain liability auto insurance and to carry proof of their auto insurance policy in their vehicle at all times.
Insurance companies share information with the Georgia Department of Revenue in order to ensure drivers maintain coverage. A statewide database keeps track of all insurance policies on registered vehicles to track any drivers who may be going without necessary coverage. Despite this, drivers still must carry proof of insurance at all times.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Georgia
There are minimum liability coverage standards laid out by the State of Georgia. If you want to ensure you have auto insurance in Georgia that complies with the state law, you must find a policy that covers at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 total property damage per accident
It is not required, but most experts agree that drivers would be wise to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage. A policy that includes these extensions can better protect a driver against the rising costs of medical care. If you can afford comprehensive and collision, it could save you a lot of money in the event of an accident. Enter your zip code on this page to find the best deal on the coverage that works best for your situation.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Georgia
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is another extension that can give you added protection. Currently, Georgia is one of the states that does not require UM/UIM coverage.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Georgia
The State of Georgia does not require its drivers to obtain an auto insurance policy that includes no-fault coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP coverage can provide drivers with extra help on damages like lost wages, medical expenses, and more. Georgia does not require drivers to obtain this kind of policy, but it is still something to consider.
If your license is ever suspended, you will need to file an SR-22 document with the Georgia DMV. This document helps you prove that you have auto insurance in Georgia that meets the state standards. Without this proof you will not be able to achieve reinstatement as a licensed driver.
Georgia DUI Laws
First time DUI offenders face certain penalties in the State of Georgia. If you are convicted for driving under the influence for the first time, you can expect:
- 10 days to 1 year imprisonment
- $300 to $1000 fine
- Up to 1 year license suspension
- Minimum 40 hours community service
- $210 license reinstatement fee
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Georgia
Go to the Georgia Office of Insurance and Fire Commissioner for further details regarding auto insurance in Georgia. You can either visit their website at www.gainsurance.org/ or call their office at (404) 656-2070 to get in touch with them.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)