Auto Insurance in Kentucky
Most states now require drivers to have auto insurance. The exact requirements are different from state to state, which means it is important for drivers to get educated about the unique laws in their part of the country. This guide will give you all the information you need about auto insurance in Kentucky.
Auto Insurance in Kentucky
Vehicles in Kentucky must have liability auto insurance. Drivers must be prepared to show proof of insurance after any accident, during any traffic stop, or when they are registering a vehicle. You should always carry an insurance card or a copy of your policy in your vehicle.
If you are stopped by law enforcement and you cannot produce proof of insurance, you may be subject to penalties including loss of vehicle registration, suspension of license plate, fines up $1,000 and a possible jail sentence. Repeat offenses lead to even higher fines. This offense will also lead to your insurance company placing you in a “high risk” category that calls for higher premiums.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Kentucky
There are minimum standards that apply to liability auto insurance in Kentucky. Your policy must at least cover:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident
Obtaining liability auto insurance is not enough in the State of Kentucky. Like some other states, Kentucky demands certain auto insurance extensions that better protect drivers while they are on the road. Read on to find out which extensions are required in Kentucky.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Kentucky
Kentucky does not currently demand that drivers obtain UM/UIM coverage.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Kentucky
Kentucky is a no-fault state, but it allows drivers to opt out. In order to opt out of the mandatory no-fault auto insurance, you need to obtain a special form from the Office of Insurance or your insurance company. This form gets filed with the Kentucky Office of Insurance.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection is required in Kentucky. As a no-fault state, Kentucky demands that drivers who do not opt out of the requirement obtain PIP coverage that can pay for funeral expenses, medical costs, lost wages, and other damages resulting from an accident.
Most states require drivers to file an SR-22 document with the DMV before they can regain driving privileges that have been revoked. Kentucky drivers are not expected to complete this document in order to gain reinstatement.
Kentucky DUI Laws
Your penalties for a first time DUI offense in Kentucky depend on your level of blood alcohol content at the time you are tested. Here are the maximum penalties:
- Up to six months imprisonment
- $500-$1,500 fine
- $200 to $500 fine
- 30 to 120-day license suspension
- 90 day alcohol or drug treatment program
- 48 hours to 30 days community service
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Kentucky
You can turn to to the Kentucky Department of Insurance for further information about auto insurance in Kentucky. They are available at (502) 564-3630 or www.insurance.ky.gov.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)