Auto Insurance in Rhode Island
Mandatory auto insurance laws apply to all drivers and vehicle owners in Rhode Island. There are plenty of details regarding types of insurance and amounts of coverage needed. You can find all that information gathered together in this convenient guide to auto insurance in Rhode Island.
Auto Insurance in Rhode Island
For over two decades, the State of Rhode Island has had laws in place that require every driver and every vehicle owner to maintain financial responsibility in the event of an auto accident. Many drivers find that purchasing liability auto insurance is the only practical way to achieve compliance with the laws in Rhode Island. Most importantly, you need to understand that If you operate or own a vehicle in this state and you do not maintain the proper insurance, you will be subject to penalties and fines.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Rhode Island
In order to achieve full compliance with the law in Rhode Island, you need to find liability auto insurance that meets the state’s minimum coverage standard. Here are the minimum totals that you must meet or exceed:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 total property damage per accident
Auto insurance experts rarely find that state minimum requirements demand a level of coverage that truly protects a motorist from some potential financial calamities. If you only secure a policy that meets the state’s standard, then you may find yourself unable to cover all of your medical costs or vehicle repair costs after an accident. Comprehensive and collision coverage may also be a good idea. Whatever type of coverage works best for you, your first move should be to enter your zip code on this page and get ready to compare quotes from top providers in your area.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Rhode Island
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is currently required by the State of Rhode Island in some cases. Drivers may opt out of UM/UIM mandates if they do at least purchase liability insurance at the minimum limits.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Rhode Island
Rhode Island does not have a law that requires no-fault auto insurance.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection is a form of no-fault insurance. Rhode Island does not require its drivers to carry this form of insurance.
The SR-22 form is a way for some drivers to prove that they meet the state’s minimum standards for auto insurance. Not all drivers will be asked to deal with the SR-22. Typically, only DUI offenders and drivers previously caught operating a vehicle without insurance are required to file an SR-22 in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island’s DWI Laws
A DUI conviction can have a significant impact on your auto insurance premium. In Rhode Island, a first time offender may receive some or all of the following penalties for a DUI conviction:
- Up to one year imprisonment and/or 10 to 60 hours community service
- $100 to $300 fine if BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) is 0.08%
- $100 to $400 fine if BAC is 0.09% to 0.15%
- $500 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
- $500 highway assessment fee
- 30 to 180 days license suspension if BAC is 0.08%
- Three months to one year if BAC is 0.09% to 0.15%
- Three months to 18 months is above 0.15%
- Mandatory attendance to DWI course
- Additional Information on Rhode Island Insurance
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Rhode Island
The Rhode Island Division of Insurance Regulation will have any additional information you may need regarding auto insurance in Rhode Island. To make sure you have all the facts about auto insurance in Rhode Island, you can call them at (401) 462-9520 or visit their website at www.dbr.state.ri.us/divisions/insurance.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)