Auto Insurance in Tennessee
This is your reference guide to auto insurance in Tennessee. Like most other states, Tennessee requires its drivers to carry certain kinds of auto coverage. To find out what you need to be in compliance with the law, just read this informational article.
Auto Insurance in Tennessee
Tennessee drivers must either obtain liability auto insurance or be able to provide proof of financial responsibility to the government. In order to be deemed financially responsible, you must be able to cover liability in the event of a car accident.
While operating a vehicle in Tennessee, unless you have opted out of the auto insurance mandate by proving financial responsibility, you must carry valid proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. Law enforcement will ask for proof of insurance during any traffic stop and after any reported accident. You may present an insurance card or a statement from a Tennessee-licensed insurer as valid proof. If you opted out, you must be able to present a law enforcement officer with a statement from the Department of Safety that verifies you posted a bond or deposit that met the legal requirements for financial responsibility.
Penalties for failure to meet Tennessee’s laws regarding auto insurance and financial responsibility include fines and license suspensions. It is a Class C misdemeanor to be caught driving without proof of insurance or proof of financial responsibility.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Tennessee
There are certain requirements that apply to liability auto insurance in Tennessee. If you want to comply with the law, your policy must at least cover:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 total property damage per accident
A policy with lower coverage amounts will not be considered as qualifying liability insurance. You could still face the same penalties that someone driving without insurance could face. It is wise to aim above the state minimum standard for two reasons. First, this guarantees you will be over the legal minimums even if the state decides to raise them a little in the near future. Second, most experts find that state minimum coverage does not provide drivers and their passengers with ample protection in some cases. If you need a great deal on quality coverage, you can save money by entering your zip code on this page and comparing quotes from multiple providers.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Tennessee
This coverage is not required in Tennessee.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Tennessee
Tennessee is not a no-fault state. Drivers are not required to carry insurance that protects them regardless of fault.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection insurance is not a requirement in Tennessee.
Tennessee does require certain drivers to file an SR-22 with the DMV. Most drivers will not ever have to deal with this document. However, if you are convicted of a DUI or for driving without insurance, the state may demand that you submit an SR-22 as proof that you have obtained necessary auto insurance in Tennessee.
Tennessee’s DUI Laws
First time DUI offenders face severe penalties. After a conviction, you could face the following:
- 48 hours to 11 months imprisonment
- $350 to $1,500 fine
- 1 year license suspension
- Possible ignition interlock
- Possible community service
- Possible child endangerment penalty if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
- Possible alcohol safety DUI program
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Tennessee
You can contact the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance if you would any additional information regarding auto insurance in Tennessee. You can call (615) 741-2241 or find them online at www.tn.gov/commerce/index.shtml.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)