Auto Insurance in Illinois
Illinois drivers are expected to obtain liability auto insurance that covers bodily injury and property damage costs. There are some severe fines that result from failure to obtain the necessary auto insurance. Even failure to carry proof of insurance can lead to a lot of trouble for a driver in Illinois. Use this guide to educate yourself on all the key facts regarding auto insurance in Illinois.
Auto Insurance in Illinois
If you own a vehicle and you reside in the State of Illinois, you are subject to mandatory auto insurance laws. These regulations demand that you have liability auto insurance that meets the state’s requirements. You must also carry proof of your insurance policy in your vehicle.
Illinois drivers face a minimum fine of $500 if they are caught driving without insurance or without proof of insurance. There is an additional fine of $1,000 for people caught driving without registration or for people driving during a suspended license sentence. These penalties make it extra important to follow the state laws at all times. Fines can add up very quickly.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Illinois
Before you purchase auto insurance in Illinois, you should take note of the minimum coverage standards that apply to all drivers. Make sure your auto policy covers at least:
- $20,000 bodily injury per person
- $40,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 total property damage per accident
Those numbers are a good starting point when shopping for auto insurance in Illinois, but the experts say you should aim higher if you can afford it. Medical care costs continue to rise each year and state mandated coverage minimums are unable to keep pace. If you want to make sure you have adequate protection, you should look into better coverage from comprehensive and collision auto insurance. It is easy to shop for the best coverage if you enter your zip code at the top of this page.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Illinois
Illinois is currently one of the few states that does require UM/UIM insurance. This type of coverage is geared toward protecting drivers when they fall victim to another driver operating a vehicle without proper insurance. Your medical care costs can be overwhelming after an accident and this coverage ensure you are protected even if the other driver does not have an insurance company to help.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Illinois
Illinois drivers are not expected to obtain no-fault insurance.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection provides drivers with extra coverage for medical expenses, lost wages, and other damages resulting from an accident. Since Illinois is not a no-fault state, they do not require drivers to obtain PIP coverage.
Many states require their drivers to file an SR-22 document during their reinstatement period after a driving suspension. There is a different process for reinstatement in Illinois, which means suspended drivers are not asked to file the SR-22 with the DMV.
DUI Laws in Illinois
In the State of Illinois, your first DUI conviction will lead to consequences. The state penalizes first time offenders in the following ways:
- Up to one year imprisonment; plus six months if a child under 16 is in the vehicle
- Fine of up to $2,500; plus at least $500 if BAC is above 0.16%; plus at least $1,000 if a child under 16 is in the vehicle
- 25 days community service if child under 16 is in the vehicle
- One year minimum license suspension
- Ignition interlock device possible
- Vehicle registration suspension
- 100 hours minimum community service if BAC is above 0.16%
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Illinois
For more information about auto insurance in Illinois, you should contact the Illinois Department of Insurance. They can be reached over the phone at (866) 445-5364, or you can visit their website at www.insurance.illinois.gov.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)