Auto Insurance in Michigan
Do you know all of the requirements that apply to auto insurance in Michigan? There are severe penalties for noncompliance, so you should make sure you have all the facts. This guide gathers together all the information that Michigan drivers need to stay in compliance with the law and find quality coverage.
Auto Insurance in Michigan
Like almost every other state, Michigan has a law that requires drivers to have liability auto insurance and to carry proof of that insurance at all times. Drivers in this state benefit from arguably the most comprehensive auto insurance system in America. The required no-fault insurance protects drivers and their families with coverage for unlimited rehabilitation, medical treatment, lost wages, and more for up to three years following an accident. These benefits apply regardless of whether or not the driver was at fault for the accident.
There are severe penalties for not having compliant auto insurance in Michigan. For starters, a driver caught without insurance may receive a misdemeanor conviction and a $200 to $500 fine. An offender also is subject to license suspension of at least 30 days, potentially more if he or she is not able to prove they have obtained the proper insurance. Uninsured drivers that are at fault in an accident may be held liable and sued for damages.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Michigan
When it comes to liability auto insurance, a driver’s policy must at least cover:
- $20,000 bodily injury per person
- $40,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident
Liability coverage is not enough in Michigan. You can continue reading to find out more about the state’s requirements for other types of auto insurance.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Michigan
The State of Michigan does not require drivers to carry UM/UIM coverage.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Michigan
Michigan has a comprehensive insurance system that requires all drivers to carry no-fault bodily injury liability insurance.
Personal Property Insurance (PPI) and Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP is a form of no-fault insurance that covers some medical costs, lost wages, and other damages that result from an accident. Michigan drivers are required to have PIP that covers at least $20 per day for medical services they cannot perform for themselves, survivors’ benefits, and up to $4,400 lost wages per month, for three years after the accident.
PPI also is required in Michigan. This type of insurance will have a maximum payout of $1 million for each accident with some exclusions.
Not everyone will be required to file an SR-22 document with the DMV. Some suspended drivers will have to file at the appropriate time. They will be informed by the state when they need to file.
Michigan’s DUI Laws
Michigan hands out a set of potential penalties to people convicted of DUI. For a first time offense, you could face:
- Up to 93 days imprisonment
- $100 to $500 fine
- $1,000 driver responsibility fee
- Six month license suspension
- Six license points
- Possible restricted license after 30 days
- Possible 360 hours community service
- Possible ignition interlock
- Possible vehicle immobilization
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Michigan
Do you still have questions about auto insurance in Michigan? The Michigan Office of Financial and Insurance Regulation will have answers if you call them at (517) 335-4978. Additional information is available on their website at www.michigan.gov/ofis.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)