Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in Indiana

The State of Indiana requires drivers to obtain liability auto insurance that includes coverage for accidents involving uninsured or underinsured drivers. After an accident you will be forced to prove that you have compliant auto insurance in Indiana. To make sure you coverage meets the state’s standards, just read this guide.

Auto Insurance in Indiana

Indiana requires all residents of the state who own vehicles to obtain minimum liability auto insurance. In Indiana, drivers are required to always carry proof of insurance in their vehicle.

In the event of an accident in Indiana, local law enforcement will communicate with state law enforcement and the Bureau of Motor Vehicles who in turn will communicate with your insurance company. If your insurance company does not respond in the proper way, you may be asked to file a certificate of compliance to verify that you do have auto insurance that meets the state’s standards. After that document has issued to you, you have 40 days to get your insurance company to fill out and submit back to the BMV.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Indiana

In order to have compliant auto insurance in Indiana, your policy needs to meet coverage standards. The coverage minimums are:

$25,000 bodily injury per person
$50,000 total bodily injury per accident
$10,000 total property damage per accident

Most experts agree that drivers should look for coverage that goes beyond the minimum standard. If you can afford collision and comprehensive coverage, these options are a good place to start. There are many other auto insurance extensions that can help you keep pace with rising costs associated with medical care and vehicle repairs.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Indiana

There are three common types of auto insurance extensions that are required by law in some states. The first is uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which protects drivers in situations where they are struck by another driver without proper insurance. Currently, Indiana demands that drivers obtain UM/UIM insurance that covers at $50,000 in bodily injury damages.

No-Fault Auto Insurance in Indiana

Indiana does not require its drivers to obtain no-fault insurance.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Personal injury protection is another common auto insurance extension that is required by some states. Currently, Indiana does not make its drivers obtain this kind of coverage.

SR-22 Requirements

Should your license or driving privileges ever be suspended, you may have to get acquainted with the SR-22. This document helps suspended drivers establish that they have the proper auto insurance and are ready to be reinstated. Not all states require this document from suspended drivers, but Indiana currently does demand that an SR-22 is filed with the DMV before a can regain driving privileges.

Indiana DUI Laws

A DUI conviction can be costly and lead to several consequences. Here are the punishment standards for first time offenders in Indiana:

- 30 to 60 days imprisonment or up to 1 year if BAC is 0.15% and above
- Up to $500 or up to $5,000 if BAC is 0.15% and above
- Up to 2 year license suspension
- Possible ignition interlock device
- Possible community service
- Possible attendance to a victim impact panel
- Possible substance abuse education
- Possible urine testing

Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Indiana

The Indiana Department of Insurance is available to answer any further questions you may have about auto insurance in Indiana. You can find them by going to or calling them at (800) 622-4461.

Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance

The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!

Zip Code
Select Your State

Choose Your State

Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!