Auto Insurance in Hawaii
Minimum liability auto insurance laws apply to all drivers who reside in the State of Hawaii. Hawaii is a no-fault state that requires auto insurance extensions for personal injury protection. You can read our guide to auto insurance in Hawaii to get all the facts you need.
Auto Insurance in Hawaii
Hawaii has auto insurance laws that state resident drivers must follow. In order to be compliant with the law, a Hawaii driver must have liability auto insurance and be able to provide proof of that insurance when asked by law enforcement.
There are some strict regulations that apply to auto insurance in Hawaii. If law enforcement asks to see proof of auto insurance in your vehicle and you cannot produce it, you will lose driving privileges. You must surrender your license plate and registration certificate to the director of finance in your county. Additionally, a fine of up to $500 will apply to any driver that is caught driving without proof of insurance. On the first offense, it will put four points on your driving record. Second and third offenses lead to higher fines, longer suspensions, and potential community service mandates. Enter your zip code in the form above to make sure you get a great deal on the auto insurance you need.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Hawaii
Not only do you need to carry proof of auto insurance in your vehicle at all times, but that coverage must also meet some minimum standards. It will not meet the state’s legal standard unless it covers at least:
- $20,000 bodily injury per person.
- $40,000 total bodily injury per accident.
- $10,000 total property damage per accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Hawaii
Many accidents are caused by uninsured or underinsured drivers. UM/UIM coverage can give you extra protection if you find yourself the victim of an accident caused by one of these drivers. Hawaii does not currently require drivers to carry this kind of coverage, but it may be something you want to consider.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Hawaii
Hawaii is a no-fault state, which means that it requires all drivers to have no-fault auto insurance that covers bodily injury.
There is a $5,000 monetary threshold that applies to no-fault auto insurance in Hawaii. If your medical care costs more than $5,000 from an accident, you could have the option to sue the at-fault driver for damages.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection, also known as PIP, is another required extension of auto insurance in Hawaii. All drivers are expected to carry PIP that covers at least $10,000l.
Hawaii requires drivers to file an SR-22 document during reinstatement. This applies to any drivers caught driving without proper insurance or to people who lost their license due to DUI and similar charges. The SR-22 helps drivers prove that they have obtained auto insurance that meets the legal standards and are ready to regain driving privileges.
Even on the first offense, a DUI conviction can lead to some severe consequences. Here are the penalties in Hawaii:
- 2 to 5 days imprisonment plus 2 more days if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
- $150 to $1,000 fine plus $500 more if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
- 90-day prompt license suspension (driving may be allowed) or
- 30 day prompt license suspension (driving limited to court approval) or
- 6 month license suspension if BAC is above 0.15% (all driving is prohibited)
- $25 to $50 special trauma fund surcharge
- 72 hours community service
- Successful completion of court ordered substance abuse education program
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Hawaii
You should contact the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs if you have anymore questions about auto insurance in Hawaii. Call them at at (808) 586-2790 or go to their website at www.hawaii.gov/dcca/ins.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)