Auto Insurance in Montana
Are you looking for auto insurance in Montana? There are some laws and regulations that apply to all drivers in your state. Before you purchase a policy, make sure you know what you need to comply with the laws regarding liability coverage, no-fault insurance, and protection against uninsured drivers.
Auto Insurance in Montana
In the State of Montana, there are laws that require drivers to have liability auto insurance and carry proof of insurance at all times. Operating a vehicle without the proper insurance is a misdemeanor in Montana. Failure to comply with the law can lead to potential fines between $250 and $500 and a jail sentence for up to 10 days. Uninsured drivers also receive five points on their driving records. Committing the same offense a second and third time will result in higher fines and automatic suspension of driving privileges.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Montana
In Montana, your liability auto insurance must meet or exceed the coverage standards laid out by state law:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident
While you will be in compliance with the law at this standard of coverage, you may still not have adequate coverage. It is a decision you have to make depending on your budget and the value of your assets, but most experts suggest adding more protection in the form of collision and comprehensive coverage. You can find any type of auto insurance that fits your needs by entering your zip code in the form on this page.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Montana
This kind of coverage provides extra protection from uninsured and underinsured drivers on the roads. Despite laws requiring auto insurance, many drivers still choose to go without proper coverage. They pose a significant risk to everyone. Like most states, Montana does not require uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, but it may still be something you should consider.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Montana
Montana does not have a no-fault insurance law that require this type of coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Since there is no no-fault law in Montana, drivers in this state are not required to have personal injury protection included in their auto insurance policy.
What is an SR-22? This is a type of document that allows suspended drivers to show proof of insurance while they are applying for reinstatement. Montana is one of many states that requires suspended drivers to file an SR-22 with the DMV if they are interested in regaining driving privileges.
Montana’s DUI Laws
Even on the first offense, a DUI conviction can lead to many severe penalties. In the State of Montana, DUI offenders may receive:
- One day to six months imprisonment
- Two days to 12 months imprisonment if minor under 16 present in vehicle
- $300 to $1,000 fine
- $600 to $2,000 fine if minor under 16 present in vehicle
- Six month license suspension
- Completion of chemical dependency education course or treatment
- Possible ignition interlock
- Possible restricted license
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Montana
If there is anything else you need to know about auto insurance in Montana, the Montana Insurance Commissioner's office can answer your questions. You can call their office at (406) 444-2040 or go to their website at www.sao.mt.gov.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)