Auto Insurance in Idaho
Idaho drivers are subject to laws regarding auto insurance. The state demands that all residents who own a vehicle must purchase liability auto insurance meeting certain bodily injury and property damage coverage standards. To find out what minimums your policy must exceed, read our handy guide to auto insurance in Idaho.
Auto Insurance in Idaho
If you are a resident of Idaho and you own a vehicle, you need to obtain liability auto insurance. State law also requires that you carry an insurance card or a copy of your policy in your vehicle at all times.
All state drivers must sign a document that officially states they recognize their responsibility to maintain compliant auto insurance in Idaho. Drivers sign this document during the vehicle registration process instead of having to actually produce proof of insurance.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Idaho
It is not enough to have just any form of liability auto insurance in Idaho. Your policy needs to cover at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 total property damage per accident
These numbers represent the absolute minimum you are required to have. This does not necessarily mean you should go out and purchase coverage with these exact figures. It may take more coverage to keep pace with rapidly rising costs in medical care. The experts suggest looking for a policy that goes beyond the state minimums. You can find the right kind of coverage by entering your zip code in the form at the top of the page. You will have a wide range of quotes to compare, which will allow you to get the best deal on quality coverage.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Idaho
Like most states, Idaho does not require its drivers to carry UM/UIM coverage. However, this type of protection can be very helpful if you are ever the victim of an accident caused by a driver without proper insurance.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Idaho
Idaho does not require no-fault insurance.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP insurance helps drivers cope with medical expenses and lost wages after an accident. Idaho does not have a law that requires PIP.
Most states require drivers to file an SR-22 document with the DMV when they seek reistatement as a licensed driver after a period of suspension. Drivers can file their SR-22 after they have obtained proper auto insurance and their suspension is over.
Idaho DUI Laws
The State of Idaho hands out penalties to first time DUI offenders. Here is what a DUI conviction will earn you:
- Up to 6 months imprisonment
- Up to $1,000 fine
- 90 to 180 days license suspension
- Restricted license possible after 30 days
- Alcohol evaluation and treatment possible
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Idaho
The Idaho Department of Insurance can answer any additional questions you may have about auto insurance in Idaho. You can reach them by calling (208) 334-4250 or visiting their website at www.doi.idaho.gov/.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)