Auto Insurance in Oklahoma
Are you familiar with all the laws and regulations that apply to auto insurance in Oklahoma? If you need a refresher, this guide gives you quick access to all the facts you need to know. You can read below to find information about SR-22 requirements, no-fault laws, minimum liability standards, and more.
Auto Insurance in Oklahoma
Liability auto insurance is required by law in the State of Oklahoma. If you are unable to show proof of compliant auto insurance when a law enforcement officer or a representative of the Department of Public Safety requests it, then you will face potential penalties. Your punishment may include a $250 fine, a 30 day jail sentence, or both. Failure to maintain proper auto insurance, or failure to carry mandatory proof of insurance, may also lead to vehicle registration and drivers license suspension.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, liability auto insurance is required to cover at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 total property damage per accident
Oklahoma’s minimum coverage standards are in line with most other states in the country. However, that does not necessarily mean that this level of coverage will provide you with adequate protection if you are in an accident. Take the advice of auto insurance experts and seek coverage that meets a higher standard, possibly even including comprehensive and collision coverage. You can find a great deal on excellent coverage by entering your zip code on this page.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Oklahoma
Oklahoma drivers are not required by law to carry insurance protecting against uninsured or underinsured motorists.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Oklahoma
Oklahoma does not have any laws pertaining to no-fault insurance. This type of coverage is not mandatory.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Drivers are not required to carry personal injury protection on their auto insurance policy.
Suspended drivers are not required to file an SR-22 form with the DMV to achieve reinstatement. Oklahoma has a different process that suspended drivers must go through.
Drivers convicted of a DUI in Oklahoma will potentially face the following penalties on their first offense:
- 10 days to one year imprisonment
- Up to 4 years imprisonment if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
- Up to $1,000 fine
- Doubled fine if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
- 30 day license suspension
- Treatment assessment and evaluation
- Minimum $300 DUI fee
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in
The Oklahoma Insurance Department can provide you with more information about auto insurance in Oklahoma. You can call them at (405) 521-2828 or visit their website at www.ok.gov/oid. If you are ready to purchase auto insurance in Oklahoma, do not forget to use the form on this page to compare quotes from top providers in your area.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)