Auto Insurance in Oregon
There are mandatory requirements regarding auto insurance in Oregon. If you are a driver in this state, you are expected to know and follow these laws and regulations at all times. To get informed about the facts regarding auto insurance in Oregon, you only need to read this quick guide.
Auto Insurance in Oregon
The State of Oregon requires drivers to have liability auto insurance. State laws also demand that insurance companies send their Oregon policy holders a proof of insurance card, and that drivers must carry that card in their vehicles at all times.
Drivers caught without proper auto insurance are subject to suspension of driving privileges, fines, and vehicle impoundment. After a driver is convicted of driving without insurance, they are required to file proof of financial responsibility to the state government for up to three years. Failure to show proof of financial responsibility leads to potential suspension of license and fees.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Oregon
Your liability insurance must meet certain minimum coverage standards. The state requires policies to cover at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 total property damage per accident
If you were to purchase a policy with these exact amounts of coverage, you would be in compliance with the state’s requirements for liability auto insurance but you may not have adequate protection for your assets. It may depend on your unique situation, but many experts have said that state minimum standards do not provide proper coverage for drivers. If you are interested in finding coverage that includes better protection, including comprehensive and collision extensions, you should enter your zip code in the form on this page. It is easy to find a great deal on coverage that will truly protect you and your passengers.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Oregon
Oregon drivers must carry UM and UIM coverage. This extension must cover at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Oregon
Oregon does not have a no-fault law. However, drivers must carry personal injury protection that covers some expenses regardless of fault.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
The State of Oregon requires PIP coverage for "reasonable and necessary" ambulance, hospital, surgical, and other expenses resulting from an accident. This insurance must cover expenses up to $15,000 and last for at least one year after the accident.
SR-22 documents are required in many states. They apply to drivers who have received a suspension due to failure to maintain auto insurance, DUI conviction, and other similar offenses. Oregon requires certain drivers to file an SR-22 with the DMV.
SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.
Oregon’s DWI Laws
If you are convicted of a DWI in Oregon, you could potentially face a long list of penalties. A first time offender can expect to receive:
- Minimum two days to one year imprisonment or 80 hours community service
- Minimum $1,000 fine
- Minimum $2,000 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
- Up to $10,000 fine if minor under 18 in vehicle
- $300 other DUI fees
- One year license suspension
- Ignition interlock required for one year
- Completion of drug and alcohol treatment
- Required participation in victim impact panel program
- Possible DUI diversion program
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Oregon
If you want to know more about laws and regulations pertaining to auto insurance in Oregon, you should get in touch with the Oregon Insurance Division. You may visit their website at www.insurance.oregon.gov or call them at (888) 877-4894.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)