Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in West Virginia

There are auto insurance laws that apply to all registered vehicles in the State of West Virginia. If you operate a vehicle in this state, you need to get educated on the requirements that apply to you. This guide to auto insurance in West Virginia is your one-stop resource for all the key facts that drivers need to know.

Auto Insurance in West Virginia

If you own or operate a registered vehicle in West Virginia, you are required to maintain liability auto insurance that meets certain standards laid out by the state. You also may be in compliance with the law if you can provide proof of financial responsibility to the appropriate government agency.

Like many other states, West Virginia has severe penalties for drivers who do not meet the legal requirements for auto insurance or financial responsibility. There are even penalties for failure to carry proof of insurance. In order to be compliant with the law, you must have proper liability insurance and carry valid proof in your vehicle at all times.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in West Virginia

The minimum liability coverage standard for drivers is laid out like this:

- $20,000 bodily injury per person
- $40,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident

These numbers are average compared to minimums required by other states. Most experts agree that even states with high minimum standards do not demand a level that provides drivers with adequate protection for all kinds of accidents. In order to fully protect yourself from a financial calamity in the event of a serious accident, you may need to obtain comprehensive or collision coverage that goes beyond the state requirements. Remember, if you want to do your best to find a great deal on any kind of coverage, you should start by entering your zip code on this page.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in West Virginia

West Virginia drivers must carry UM/UIM coverage on their policy. There are minimum standards that apply to this kind of insurance. Your policy must be able to cover at least:

- $20,000 bodily injury per person
- $40,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident

This is the same standard established for liability auto insurance in West Virginia.

No-Fault Auto Insurance in West Virginia

Drivers do not need to carry no-fault insurance.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Personal injury protection, a form of no-fault insurance, is not required.

SR-22 Requirements

The state will inform drivers when they are required to file an SR-22 form with the DMV. Typically, this occurs in cases where a driver has been caught driving without insurance in the past or was convicted of a DUI offense. These drivers must use the SR-22 to reestablish financial responsibility.

West Virginia’s DUI Laws

If you are convicted of a first offense DUI in West Virginia, you may be subject to some or all of the following penalties:

- Up to 6 months imprisonment
- 2 days to 6 months imprisonment if Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is above 0.15%
- 2 days to 1 year if minor under 16 is present in vehicle
- $100 to $500 fine
- $100 to $1,000 if BAC is above 0.15%
- $200 to $1,000 if minor under 16 is present in vehicle
- 15 day license suspension
- 45 day license suspension if BAC is above 0.15%
- Possible ignition interlock

Additional Information about Auto Insurance in West Virginia

If you feel you have a special case and you want to pose a question to governmental authorities, you should contact the West Virginia Insurance Commission at (304) 558-3386. More information is available on their website at

Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance

The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!

Zip Code
Select Your State

Choose Your State

Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!