Auto Insurance in Massachusetts
If you are looking for facts about auto insurance in Massachusetts, you have come to the right place. This guide has information about all the laws and regulations that apply to liability, no-fault, and other forms of auto insurance in Massachusetts. Everything you need is right here on one page.
Auto Insurance in Massachusetts
Massachusetts requires everyone operating a motor vehicle to have liability auto insurance. Drivers also are required to carry proof of insurance in their vehicles.
In the past, Massachusetts had a “fixed and established” system that applied to insurance premiums for vehicles. Under this system, the state, not insurance companies, had the power to set premiums for drivers. No matter what insurance provider a particular driver chose, the premium would be the same. In recent years, Massachusetts has switched to a system of “managed competition.” Under these rules, drivers can compare different rates from different insurance companies and choose the policy and premium that fits their situation. This system encourages more competition among insurance companies.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Massachusetts
Since there is a mandate for liability auto insurance in Massachusetts, drivers also must pay attention to the minimum coverage standards. Your policy will not be compliant with the law unless it covers at least:
- $20,000 bodily injury per person
- $40,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $5,000 total property damage per accident
These coverage minimums are not out of the ordinary when compared to other states across the country. Still, it may be wise to look for a policy that contains better coverage through comprehensive and collision insurance. Experts usually instruct drivers to aim higher than their state’s minimum standard because state amounts are rarely able to keep pace with medical care and vehicle repair costs. It will be easier to find a competitive rate for better coverage if you enter your zip code in the form on this page.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Massachusetts
If you are in the market for auto insurance in Massachusetts, you should know that UM/UIM coverage is required by law. The Commonwealth of Massachusetts says all drivers must have protection against uninsured and underinsured drivers that covers $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Massachusetts
Drivers also are required to carry no-fault insurance in Massachusetts.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
No-fault insurance must come in the form of personal injury protection, a type of insurance that covers certain expenses resulting from accidents regardless of fault. In Massachusetts, drivers must have PIP that covers a minimum of $8,000.
The Commonwealth requires drivers to file an SR-22 form with the DMV in certain situations.
A set of maximum penalties may apply to any driver convicted of a first time DUI offense. These include:
- Up to 30 months imprisonment
- $500 to $5,000 fine
- $250 assessment fine
- $50 DUI victim trust fund fine
- One year license suspension
- Court assigned treatment program
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Massachusetts
The Massachusetts Division of Insurance is available to answer any additional questions you may have. You can reach them by callilng (617) 521-7794 or contacting them via their website at www.mass.gov/doi.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)