Auto Insurance in Mississippi
You do not have to look any further for information regarding auto insurance in Mississippi. This page has the all the facts that Mississippi drivers need to stay in compliance with the laws. There are many state regulations that pertain to auto insurance and this guide will get you up to date.
Auto Insurance in Mississippi
Mississippi law requires all drivers to carry liability auto insurance. If a driver is stopped by law enforcement at any time, he or she will be expected to possess proof of insurance. Any driver that is caught without necessary proof of insurance, or anyone caught operating a vehicle that is uninsured, will be subject to severe penalties. The first-offense penalties for driving without insurance include a potential one year suspension of license and a $1,000 fine. The offender must eventually prove that they have obtained proper auto insurance in order to end the suspension.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Mississippi
It is not just any form of liability auto insurance that will help you meet the state’s standard. Your policy must cover at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 total property damage per accident
Many other states have coverage minimums that are in line with the ones mandated in Mississippi. Unfortunately, most experts agree that the states are woefully behind in accounting for the rising costs of medical care and vehicle repairs. Your search for quality auto insurance in Minnesota should not necessarily be limited to policies that only provide enough coverage to meet the minimum standard. You may be able to fit comprehensive and collision coverage in your budget if you enter you zip code in the form on this page and compare competitive quotes from many providers.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Mississippi
Some states require drivers to carry protection against uninsured or underinsured drivers. Mississippi currently does not require this type of insurance.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Mississippi
Mississippi does not have a law requiring no-fault insurance, so it is not necessary to purchase this kind of coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Neither PIP nor personal property insurance (PPI) are required in Minnesota.
The state will inform some drivers that they are required to file an SR-22 form with the DMV or another governmental agency. This document acts as proof of insurance for people who are dealing with suspended license sentences and want to work toward reinstatement of driving privileges.
Mississippi’s DUI Laws
Mississippi punishes first time DUI offenders with a host of potential penalties. As a first time offender, you may be subject to:
- Up to 48 hours imprisonment
- $250 to $1,000 fine
- 90 day license suspension
- Possible hardship license after 30 days
- Possible alcohol safety education program
- Possible attendance to victim impact panel
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Mississippi
This guide covered all the key points regarding auto insurance in Mississippi. If you believe you have a special case that demands specific answers from the government, you should direct your questions to the Mississippi Insurance Department. It is easy to reach them on the phone at (601) 359-3569 or online at www.mid.state.ms.us.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)