Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
New Hampshire does things differently than every other state when it comes to auto insurance. To find out if New Hampshire drivers are required to follow the same mandatory coverage requirements as drivers in other states, just read the guide below. These facts will help you become an expert on auto insurance in New Hampshire.
Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
Currently, New Hampshire is alone in not requiring liability auto insurance. Every other state in America requires its drivers to have minimum liability coverage that protects them while they are on the road. You might think that because of this New Hampshire would have more uninsured drivers than other states. However, that is not the case. In fact, New Hampshires rates of insured drivers compare very favorably with the rest of the country.
While there is no mandate to obtain liability auto insurance in New Hampshire, it is important to note that drivers are still required to prove they have sufficient means to meet the New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements. These requirements will apply when a driver causes an accident and is held liable. People who are unable to show proof of financial responsibility face penalties similar to the ones suffered by uninsured drivers in other states, including suspension of driving privileges.
It is also important to note that certain drivers do have to obtain liability auto insurance in New Hampshire. Prior DUI or related convictions and other infractions can lead to mandatory liability auto insurance. The state mails these drivers a notice that informs them of the mandatory insurance requirements. These special requirements apply for three years after a DWI conviction.
You should also remember that financing companies require auto insurance for any vehicle that is leased or financed. Just because the state does not require liability insurance for all drivers does not mean you are off the hook.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
The State of New Hampshire does have a minimum standard of coverage that applies to people who must purchase liability insurance due to previous infractions. Here are the minimum coverage amounts:
$25,000 bodily injury per person
$50,000 total bodily injury per accident
$25,000 total property damage per accident
If you are required to purchase auto insurance in New Hampshire, it can be as easy as entering your zip code in the form at the top of this page.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
If you choose to purchase auto insurance in New Hampshire, it must include uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Again, the state does not require you to purchase liability insurance, but if you choose to, you must have protection against drivers without proper insurance.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
New Hampshire drivers are not required to carry no-fault insurance.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
New Hampshire law states that drivers must buy medical payments coverage if they purchase auto insurance for personal use. Medical payments coverage, like personal injury protection (PIP), covers some medical expenses regardless of fault. Drivers in New Hampshire must have at least $1,000 in this type of coverage.
The SR-22 document is a way for suspended drivers to show proof of insurance to the government. You cannot regain your driving privileges after a DWI until this document has been submitted and approved by the government.
New Hampshire’s DWI Laws
Anyone convicted of a DWI offense for the first time can face a long list of fines and penalties. These include:
- Minimum 10 days imprisonment if aggravated DWI
- Minimum $500 fine
- Minimum $750 fine if aggravated DWI
- Nine month to two year license suspension
- 18 month to two year license suspension if aggravated DWI
- Completion of impaired driver program
- Possible alcohol/drug treatment and counseling
- SR-22 insurance required for three years
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
The New Hampshire Department of Insurance should be your first resource for questions regarding auto insurance in New Hampshire. You can call them at (603) 271-2261 or go to their website at www.nh.gov/insurance.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)