Auto Insurance in Missouri
Drivers in Missouri must follow certain laws and regulations regarding auto insurance. If you are not sure whether or not you have compliant coverage, or if you would like to know about specific requirements for auto insurance in Missouri, you have all the information you need right on this page.
Auto Insurance in Missouri
If you operate a vehicle in the State of Missouri, you must have liability auto insurance and carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. There are several forms of acceptable proof of insurance that drivers can carry and still be in compliance with the law:
- Financial responsibility identification card (must be issued by the Missouri Department of Revenue)
- Motor vehicle liability insurance policy
- Binder or receipt
- Self-insured identification card (must be issued by the Missouri DOR)
- Identification card that includes name and address of insurer, name of insured driver, policy number, valid dates of coverage, and a description of the insured vehicle.
Law enforcement may ask to see proof of insurance during any traffic stop or after any accident. Drivers are required by law to carry at least one of the previously mentioned forms of proof of insurance at all times.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Missouri
To be compliant with the law in Missouri, your liability auto insurance must meet some minimum standards. It must at least cover:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident
Most experts will tell you that securing coverage at the minimum standard may put you in compliance with the law but it will not provide you with adequate protection in all situations. Medical care and vehicle repair costs can be enormous after an accident. Your minimum coverage may not protect your financial well being in some cases. If you are thinking about going for additional coverage in the form of comprehensive and collision insurance, you should start by entering your zip code at the top of this page.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Missouri
The State of Missouri requires drivers to carry coverage for uninsured and underinsured drivers. The minimum coverage standard for this type of insurance is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Missouri
Missouri does not have a no-fault law on the books. Drivers may choose not to carry this type of coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Drivers do not need to include personal injury protection on their policies.
An SR-22 document is one way for drivers to show proof of minimum liability insurance. Only certain drivers will be asked to provide this form of proof. Typically, this only applies to drivers convicted of DUI offenses or people caught driving without insurance. Missouri does require the SR-22 for some drivers.
Missouri’s DUI Laws
A DUI conviction leads to several potential penalties in the State of Missouri. A first time offender may receive:
- Up to six months imprisonment
- Up to $500 fine
- 30 day license full suspension
- 60 day license restricted suspension
- $45 license reinstatement fee
- SR-22 insurance
- Possible ignition interlock
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Missouri
If any information is unclear to you, or if you think you have a special case, you should contact the Missouri Department of Insurance at (573) 751-4126. You should also visit their website at www.insurance.mo.gov.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)