Auto Insurance in North Dakota
You can have all the information you need about auto insurance in North Dakota right here in one resource. Are you wondering whether no-fault or liability auto insurance are mandatory in your state? Read on to find out about all the laws and regulations that apply to drivers in North Dakota.
Auto Insurance in North Dakota
It is illegal to drive without liability auto insurance in North Dakota. Drivers can even be penalized for failure to carry proof of insurance in their vehicle at all times. Driving without insurance is a class B misdemeanor that will cost you a minimum of $150 in fines. If you cause an accident and you do not have proper coverage, you will receive 14 points on your driving record. Additional offenses lead to bigger fines and even more points on your driving record. Multiple offenses can result in suspension of your driving privileges and additional proof of insurance requirements. You must provide the state government with proof of insurance during certain intervals for a period of three years. Failure to provide proof of insurance when required by the state will lead to suspension of driver’s license.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in North Dakota
Liability auto insurance is mandated by law in North Dakota. Certain minimum coverage limits also apply to all drivers:
$25,000 bodily injury per person
$50,000 total bodily injury per accident
$25,000 total property damage per accident
The minimum coverage standard in North Dakota is typical of the amounts required in most states. Most experts will tell you that these standards are a good starting point, but that drivers who want to fully protect themselves on the road should look for better coverage. When you are ready to look for auto insurance in North Dakota, no matter what level of coverage you seek, you should start by entering your zip code in the form at the top of this page.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in North Dakota
Like some other states, North Dakota does require its drivers to carry UM/UIM coverage. Your policy must include protection against accidents with uninsured or underinsured drivers that covers at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in North Dakota
North Dakota requires drivers to carry no-fault auto insurance.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Drivers must carry personal injury protection that covers at least $30,000 per accident regardless of who is at fault.
The SR-22 form will help you apply for reinstatement on the state’s list of legal drivers after your period of suspension is up. No matter what the reason was for your suspension, the SR-22 must be filed with the state government before you can earn your way back to reinstatement.
North Dakota’s DWI Laws
If you are convicted of a DWI offense in North Dakota, you will be subject to the following penalties:
- 91-day license suspension if Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08% to 0.17%
- 108-day license suspension if BAC is 0.18% and above
- Minimum $250 fine
- Possible hardship license after 30 days
- Mandatory alcohol evaluation
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in North Dakota
If you still have any questions about auto insurance in North Dakota, you can turn to the North Dakota Insurance Department. The office phone number is (701) 328-2440. You can also visit them online at www.nd.gov/ndins.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)