Auto Insurance in North Carolina
Are you looking for information about laws pertaining to auto insurance in North Carolina? This guide has all the facts you need to know about liability auto insurance, no-fault laws, personal injury protection, SR-22 requirements, and more.
Auto Insurance in North Carolina
The State of North Carolina has a law that requires drivers to maintain liability auto insurance that meets a minimum standard. The law also states that drivers must carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times.
North Carolina was a trailblazing state in terms of mandating auto insurance for all drivers. It was one of the first to do so, and it still maintains strict laws pertaining to auto insurance. The state monitors registered vehicles by requiring insurance companies to communicate with the Division of Motor Vehicles. If you cancel a policy or let it lapse for any reason, the DMV will send a notice to you. There is a $50 fee involved in recertifying your insurance after a policy has lapsed. If you do not respond within 10 days of receiving the notice, your license plates will be suspended for 30 days and you will have to pay a fine to get it reinstated.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in North Carolina
State law requires North Carolina drivers to have liability auto insurance that covers at least:
- 30,000 bodily injury per person
- 60,000 total bodily injury per accident
- 25,000 total property damage per accident
Auto insurance experts agree that, in most cases, state minimum insurance standards do not provide people with the ideal amount of coverage. Purchasing liability insurance with this level of coverage may put you in compliance with the law, but it may not be enough to protect you financially in the event of an accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in North Carolina
UM/UIM coverage offers drivers protection against uninsured or underinsured motorists. The State of North Carolina currently requires that all drivers have UM/UIM insurance that meets the same minimum coverage standards that apply to liability insurance.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in North Carolina
There are no laws in North Carolina that require no-fault car insurance.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
No personal injury protection insurance is required in this state.
Many states want suspended drivers to file an SR-22 form with DMV during reinstatement. North Carolina has its own process for suspended drivers. You will not be required to file an SR-22.
North Carolina’s DUI Laws
There are minimum penalties that apply to drivers convicted of DUI and similar offenses in the State of North Carolina. In addition to higher premiums on your auto insurance, you can also expect to face:
- One year license suspension
- Mandatory substance abuse treatment
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in North Carolina
You should contact the North Carolina Department of Insurance if you have any more questions about auto insurance in North Carolina. You can call them at (800) 546-5664 or go to their website at www.ncdoi.com. If you are ready to purchase auto insurance in North Carolina, just enter your zip code at the top of this page.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)