Auto Insurance in Kansas
Kansas has an unusually high standard for auto insurance coverage. There are several different kinds of coverage drivers must have in order to be in compliance with the law. You have all the information you need right here on this page. Take a couple minutes to get acquainted with the laws regarding auto insurance in Kansas.
Auto Insurance in Kansas
Almost all states currently require drivers to have liability auto insurance. Kansas is no different. If you are a resident of the state and you own a vehicle, you will need to have coverage that meets the state’s standards. The law also requires that you always keep proof of insurance in your vehicle.
Kansas has a higher minimum standard for coverage than most other states. The state’s minimum liability auto insurance coverage is in line with many other states, but they are one of the few that also demands no-fault and uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. The state has gone further than most in trying to ensure its citizens are financially protected when they are driving out on the roads.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Kansas
As stated above, the minimum liability auto insurance coverage standards in Kansas are fairly typical:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident
These are minimums that you will find in many other states. However, it is in two key mandatory auto insurance extensions that Kansas goes beyond the typical requirements.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Kansas
As the name suggests, this kind of coverage helps protect people from drivers who are on the roads without proper insurance. Getting into an accident with these drivers can lead to severe financial difficulty. Therefore, a few states like Kansas have decided to require all drivers to obtain UM/UIM coverage. Kansas drivers must have UM/UIM insurance that covers $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Kansas
Kansas is a no-fault state. Read the personal injury protection section below for more details.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection provides drivers with extra protection in the event of an accident. It specifically focuses on helping drivers cope with lost wages, medical expenses, and some other key damages that result from accidents.
Kansas requires drivers to carry PIP insurance that covers a minimum of:
- $4,500 medical expenses per person
- $900 lost income per month for one year
- $25 for in-home services per day
- $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expenses
- $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses
- Survivor benefits: disability/loss of income up to $900/month for one year
- In-home services up to $25/day for one year
If at any time your driving privileges are suspended by the State of Kansas, you will be required to go through a reinstatement process at the end of your suspension. Achieving reinstatement requires an SR-22. This document gets filed with the DMV in order to help you prove that you have auto insurance that is compliant with the law.
Kansas DUI Laws
The following maximum penalties will apply to first time DUI offenders in Kansas:
- Minimum two days imprisonment or 100 hours community service
- $500 to $1,000 fine
- 30-day license suspension
- 330 day license restriction after suspension
- Possible vehicle impoundment up to one year
- Possible court-ordered treatment
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Kansas
The Kansas Insurance Department can answer any other questions you may have about auto insurance in Kansas. You can call (785) 296-3071 or go to their website at www.ksinsurance.org to contact them.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)